Sun City Anthem

Thursday, January 20, 2022

Welcome to Anthem Opinions: A Vegas Voice Publication

 Though Anthem Opinions was informed by the original server that they would cease as of July31, 2021, it appears that they are continuing to be sent.  

It appears that eblasts are being sent directly from both Anthem Opinions and Anthem Today to our shared readers.

For duplication with Anthem Today, we apologize. 

Anthem Today also is unable to cease duplication at this time as well due to this problem.

We hope this will cease; however, we have no ability to stop them and appreciate your patience and understanding until they do.

 Welcome

to
Anthem Opinions
a
Publication
 
a community communication device that will provide you information, ask your opinions, and hopefully
entertain
you.
 
Sending an email to us?
 
 

See Our Latest...


Tickets Now On Sale for Sun City Anthem's Very Own
Mark OToole Variety Show

  
NFL Weekend Divisional Play-Off TV Schedule 
  _________


Learn more of us and how to subscribe...

 

 CLICK HERE TO SUBSCRIBE 

 

or

 

 Click on our Information Page...

 

"Welcome...How to Subscribe !!!"

Mark OToole Variety Show....Something New to Sun City Anthem...Get Your Reserved Seats Before They're Gone !

 
The Mark OToole Variety Show

 
 
Can't go into details yet, but tickets went on sale January 20, 2022 on the Sun City Anthem web site.
 
And...they're going fast ! 

One third of all tickets have already been sold on the first day!
 
Look for full information in the February, 2022 issue of The Spirit Magazine.
 
Need help purchasing tickets?
 
Click here:    OToole
 
Here is a clip from the Association eblast a few days ago.

Because of the current Covid closings, tickets currently are only available online to Sun City Anthem residents.

The Mark OToole Variety Show

Wednesday, March 2, at 3 p.m.
Freedom Hall Theatre
Tickets on $8
Click 
OToole to purchase tickets online or contact the Activities Office beginning January 20.

Get ready for the Mark OToole Variety Show coming to Freedom Hall Theatre on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 3:00 pm!  This is a live afternoon show where Mark will MC and bring top local and Strip performers to showcase their talents, ranging from singing to comedy, and well, you name it!  Mark's career has spanned 30 years headlining on the Strip, performing at The Smith Center, and traveling the world on cruise ships with his tribute to Barry Manilow. 

 

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Thursday, December 30, 2021

Our Last Good-Bye: Those We Lost: October thru December 2021

 

 Those We Lost
October thru December 2021
 
You have changed the world because you have touched our lives wood sign  Signs Home & Living staniwills.com
 
 
or
 
Click on Our Information Page
 
"History & Holidays"

New Years Resolutions Guide: Part Two of Two

  New Years Resolutions

Here's How to Make Them Work

(Part Two of Two)

How to Keep Your New Year's Resolutions | The Loop HK

 
 

or

 

See our Information Page...

 

"Why Didn't I Think About That ? ....Tips"

Wednesday, December 29, 2021

They Gave Us Wonderful Memories: Those We Lost July thru September 2021

Those We Lost

July thru September 2021
 
The saddest moment of lif... | Quotes & Writings by Kavita Gandhi |  YourQuote
 

 
 
or
 
Click on Our Information Page
 
"History & Holidays"

Gonna Make a New Year Resolution? Here's How to Keep It ! (Part One of Two)

  

Making New Years Resolutions

Here's How to Make Them Work

(Part One of Two)

19 New Year's resolutions for sustainability professionals in 2019

 
 

or

 

See our Information Page...

 

"Why Didn't I Think About That ? ....Tips"

 

Tuesday, December 28, 2021

Looking Back: Those We Lost: April thru June, 2021

 

 Those We Lost

 April thru June 2021

Best Quotes About Remembering Someone Who Died [2021] - PBC


Click For Full Information

 
or
 
Click on Our Information Page
 
"History & Holidays"


Looking for an Inexpensive "New Years Eve"? Look in Downtown Henderson

 Celebrating New Years Eve in Downtown Henderson

"Old Vegas Style"
 
Amazon.com: PFP 20 Person New Years Eve Party kit - Feather Tiaras blowers  Horn Leis and More : Toys & Games
 
or
 

 Click on our Information Page...

 
 "Local Entertainment Bargains"

Monday, December 27, 2021

Gone But Not Forgotten...January thru March 2021

 

 Those We Lost

January thru March 2021

✓ we will miss you free vector eps, cdr, ai, svg vector illustration  graphic art

 
 
or
 
Click on Our Information Page
 
"History & Holidays"

Problems with Your Dishwasher? Let Mr. Fix-It Help !

Dishwasher Not Cleaning Properly ?

  
0511-1009-2817-0333_Cartoonish_Dishwasher_clipart_image.png (350×291)
 

CLICK HERE for Full Information

or
 
Click on our Information Page...
 
  "Mr. Fix-It's World of Home Improvement" 

Friday, December 24, 2021

Merry Christmas from Us at Anthem Opinions

 Got up Friday morning, and on the way to the kitchen to get a cup of morning coffee, this is what I witnessed. 

Christmas Eve...2021

 
Made me realize....
 
Behind a rain, is a beautiful rainbow.
 
And in this case, it was actually God guiding Santa's sleigh !
 
Merry Christmas to all our friends....
 
...and let's hope 2022 brings the many rainbows we all yearn to see along the way....here...and...in the world.
 
After all....
 
Whimsical 'We Need a Little Christmas' Sign
 
 

Tuesday, December 21, 2021

Tuesday, December 14, 2021

IRS Issues 2023 Tax Tables....Reflect 6.2% Inflation

 It's Almost 2022 Which Means it's Time to Start Planning for 2023 Taxes

New Income Tax laws: 7 changes in income tax laws that come into effect  from Sept 1

 CLICK HERE for Full Information 


or
 

Click on our Information Page...
  
 "Henderson...Las Vegas...Nevada...Happenings"

Monday, December 6, 2021

Monday, November 8, 2021

Advice from a Former Sun City Anthem President Regarding an Association Restaurant

 Sun City Anthem Restaurant History

An Email sent to the Current Sun City Anthem President
from
A Former Sun City Anthem President

by

Favil West - VEGAS INC

Favil West / former Sun City Anthem President


 
or
 
Click on our Information Page
 
"Nevada Know How"




Saturday, November 6, 2021

Sun City Anthem Community Garage Sale: Success or Bust ? An Anthem Opinions Editorial

 Sun City Anthem Community Garage Sale 

A Learning Experience 

(An Anthem Opinions Editorial)
 
Two Sunset Pointe, Homeowners Association, Little Elm, Texas, HOA, Events >  Community Fall Garage Sale
Over the past weekend Sun City Anthem held its first Community Garage Sale, and to coin a phrase for those who participated:
 
Fearless Friday Post - {Good Intentions} - Fearless Lifestyle Culture
 
Over 300 homes took place in this event, and at last word, the general consensus was:
 
If you were looking to spend $1.00-$3.00 on stuff, it was success; anything above that amount literally represented hours of work for the homeowners who participated with little to show other then  sunning themselves in front of their driveways.
 
It all began at approximately 7:15am (though it wasn't to commence until 8:00am) when the "pros" hit the streets....
 
...the pros who were looking to spend  that $1.00 to $3.00 in order to post their treasures on Ebay for $20.00
 
I guess everyone has to figure out a way to make a buck on seniors !
 
Not to regress, but us seniors can be an innovative bunch at times.  
 
A few years ago when the Dennis Bono Show at the South Point offered a free admission TICKET that offered a free drink following the show, it all came to a halt when some "entrepreneur" decided to collect them after the show and then proceed to Ebay and SELL them at packs of $10 for a few bucks...and onceThe South Point became aware of that, quickly realized that they had created a losing proposition for any individual vising a bar !
 
That's why they began printing separate vouchers WITHOUT the free drink until earlier this year, the show began charging $5.00 for a reserved seat admission to include the free drink.
 
But...let's get back to the Sun City Anthem garage sale !
 
Other then the "vast" fortunes made by the participating homeowners, in my opinion, there was one success....
 
Meeting many of your fellow neighbors on two beautiful days !
 
Ravenswood Manor Garage Sale – Ravenswood Manor Improvement Association
 
So to those who ventured out to spend the days walking or driving through the community and getting to know others, it was an experience that didn't have a profitable afternoon for those who participated, but hopefully they had a chance to enjoy it just the same.
 
The best "taker" at the event ???
 
Online Garage Sale Tips | FriendWithA blog
 
Would I suggest that it be repeated?

 That depends if your a seller... 
Why are most people broke? - Quora
...or...a buyer...
 
He's such a cheapskate... | Cartoon, Old things, Fictional characters
 
I believe one POSITIVE suggestion that was notably missing was any form of successful PUBLIC advertising other then a community eblast or a couple of community blogs that few visit.

What about other avenues?  

Was the The Las Vegas Journal or the Vegas Voice magazine contacted or employed?

How about the community providing "Garage Sale" signs with balloons bordering major intersections?

For a relatively small expenditure, there leaves little doubt that any of those options would have enhanced the efforts of those who painstakingly participated.

Whatever your feelings, I think the Sun City Anthem Board should be complimented on trying something new, and for that, it showed they are trying hard to enhance the Sun City Anthem Community Experience !
 
Got a comment?
 
Send it to us at:
 

November 7, 2021 at 7:31 AM

  1. From Wendy Strumwasser...to...Anthem Opinions

    We had a FANTASTIC Sale!  There were people lined up to pay. 

    I thought there could have been a bit better publication of the sale. 

    I put it on Facebook and many people had put something on Nextdoor with an actual address. 

    I vote to do this again.

  2. Wendy,

    Would you mind telling us what types of items sold, the approximate prices of items that were purchased, and how much you actually collected during the Garage Weekend?

  1. From Wendy Strumwasser...to...Anthem Opinions 

    I am a retired quilt designer, judge and author.  I had thousands of yards of fabric.  

    People came multiple times and called friends.  

    We had tons of people.  I put it on Facebook and Nextdoor.  

    I advertised myself, as the HOA did not.  

    I would prefer not to disclose the money amount.  We also had higher end bicycles and kites as well as household dollar and two items.  

    Would love to do this next time for Friday, Saturday AND Sunday.  

    More advertising would have led to more traffic of people.We could not download the map.  

    I think that was a waste of time.

Daylight Savings Time Ends

 
eTMdAG8Gc.jpeg (575×317)
 
 
Just a reminder...in case you forgot...
 
It's an hour earlier than you thought it was !
 
 
Turn the clock BACK one hour and enjoy that extra hour sleep !
 


Sunday, October 31, 2021

Time to Change the Watering Schedule

  

Winter Watering Restrictions

 

November 1st means it time to change your irrigation timetable. 

CLICK HERE for Full Information

or
 

 Click on our Information Page...

 
 "The Garden Wizard"