Sun City Anthem

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Welcome to Anthem Opinions

Welcome
to
Anthem Opinions
Image result for December 17th
a community communication device that will provide you information, ask your opinions, and hopefully
entertain
you.

Sending an email to us?

 See Our Latest... 

Sun City Anthem Loses a Friend 

Christmas on the Strip
  ____________________________

Learn more of us and how to subscribe...


or

 Click on our Information Page...

"Welcome...How to Subscribe !!!"


A Tribute to A Man Whose Contributions to a Community Never Ceased

Sun City Anthem Loses
a
Friend

Image result for crying in sadness

It is with the deepest sadness that Anthem Opinions reports the passing of a man who, in our opinion, was the greatest "unsung hero" who has ever resided in Sun City Anthem...

Tim Stebbins

For those of us who were privileged to know this kind and gentle man, Tim was "always there" to show his love for Sun City Anthem, whether it be...

...attending almost all Board meetings...

... traveling 15 miles each way to attend many Nevada Real Estate Division sessions...

...journeying to Carson City  every two years to lobby members of the State Legislature and Senate to obtain more favorable rights for HOA homeowners...

.. and joining numerous Community Committee meeting sessions...

...all of which were solely intended to MAKE SUN CITY ANTHEM a "better place" for all.

Image result for tim stebbins
Rana Goodman & TIm Stebbins

 His knowledge of NRS 116 was remarkable, and was often contacted by many in the community for his advice.

We at Anthem Opinions were honored by his writing a number of helpful articles over the years pertaining to a topic he embodied:

Proper & fair governance of a Homeowners Association according to Nevada law

Of course no one will ever forget the non-stop purge and obsession by an alternative blogger and many of his disturbed readers, in addition to,  those members of various past Boards who relentlessly pursued destroying this man's character again and again, year after year...

...to cover up their costly and inept decisions.

And for those distasteful actions, a lesson should be learned as to the amount of destruction and constant insults individuals can inflict on another simply because of disagreement while that person's sole intention was exposing problems in order that they may be solved.

Those of us residing in Sun City Anthem know how terribly Tim Stebbins suffered immeasurable embarrassment when he and Bob Frank were arrested for a trumped up charge of filing a false police report...

Image result for tim stebbins
Bob Frank & Tim Stebbins

...a charge that was subsequently dismissed by the court.

His crime?  

Tying to expose the incompetence of Sun City Anthem's improperly retaining funds that should have been returned to property owners...

...that resulted in Sun City Anthem's incurring an IRS fine of $100,000 plus accounting and legal fees.

Knowing Tim Stebbins for the 13+ years of my residence in Sun City Anthem, there is no greater honor that can be given this man than...

...realizing his dream of a competent, corrupt-free, and resident friendly Sun City Anthem

He tried to his final day in believing that dream could someday come true.

Tim was truly the "Don Quixote" of Sun City Anthem. 
Image result for don quixote
He believed in the goodness of people.  

In short...

Tim Stebbins was a GOOD MAN.

He never wavered in his dedication to truth and honesty no matter what consequences he ever experienced.

He placed meaning in the saying coined by George Bernard Shaw:

Related image

God bless you Tim Stebbins.  

You will be missed by every person who believes in honesty, integrity, and a fighting spirit filled with kindness without malice.

Your dedication and humility should be the standard of all who ever serve their community.

Image result for tim stebbins
Claudia & Tim Stebbins

How can we properly honor this man's memory?

By simply making his one Sun City Anthem dedication come true...

...electing a different type of Board who, unlike those who have dominated the past,  will honor and respect those they represent.

Our deepest sympathy to his lovely wife, Claudia.

Want to express a thought about Tim?

Send it to us at:
scaopinions@gmail.com
  1. From Rana Goodman...to...Anthem Opinions

    Tim and I had been friends for many years and I will miss not only his friendship and advice on HOA issues, but also the sweet, kind, soft spoken man that he was.

Christmas at The Bellagio and Palazzo...2018


Christmas on the Strip

Image result for christmas in las vegas

CLICK HERE for Full Information 


or

Click on our Information Page...
  
 "Henderson...Las Vegas...Nevada...Happenings"



Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Vegas Voice Needs Your Help in Governor Rejecting Judge for Appellate Court Appointment



Applicant for Nevada Appellate Court
Must be Stopped
Your Help is Needed

Image result for Charles Hoskin judge

Judge Charles Hoskin


The judge that presided and is responsible for the guardianship scandal (and was subsequently removed from all cases) , Charles Hoskin, has the audacity to submit his application to be selected to the Nevada Court of Appeals.

For him to seek a promotion (instead of an indictment) would be an insult to all the work & efforts The Vegas Voice and Rana Goodman have accomplished in the guardianship scandal.

Rana Goodman is asking for your help and assistance, as well as, guidance in alerting the public through social media to immediately submit an email in opposition.

We need to get 500 of these letters to the Commission by no later than 1/4/19.

This is indeed urgent.

If we can "stop" his appointment, it would be a godsend to seniors everywhere.

Can you imagine one of our guardianship cases going to the appellate court with him on the bench?

This is The Vegas Voice draft of the letter to the Judicial committee tasked with picking the top three applicants.

Those three will then be sent to Governor-elect Steve Sisolak for him to name the new Appellate judge.

Below is a sample of the email we suggest you send to the individuals listed below

Both are members of the Judicial Committee charged with recommending the top three candidates to the Governor for selection.

The email addresses are below: Your help would be sincerely appreciated.


Robin Sweet 

Debra Crews


Attached please find my letter in opposition to the appointment of Charles Hoskin to the Nevada Court of Appeals.

Kindly include my letter to the Commission as opposing this individual and making it a permanent part of the written public comments regarding this individual applicant's (non)qualifications.

Thank you

Your name here

  1. From Rana Goodman...to... Anthem Opinions

    Please copy Rana Goodman at:

    Rana@thevegasvoice.net

    ...so that we can track the amount of letters going in.

    Thank you all so very much for pitching in.

    We cannot let this man make it to the Appellate Court.

Monday, December 10, 2018

Former Sun City Anthem Director Warns Current Restaurant Poll Sets Precedent for Future Special Assessments & Negative Real Estate Reaction


Restaurant Poll
A Last Ditch Plea to Please Vote

Image result for poll


by
Jim Mayfield

Former 2 Term Sun City Anthem Board Vice President
Former Chair of the Sun City Anthem Finance Committee


or
Click on our Information Page

"Nevada Know How"

Keeping "Fido" Safe

Plants Toxic to Dogs

Image result for cartoon dog moving


 
or
 
Click on our Information Page
 
"Keeping Our Neighborhood Safe"

Sunday, December 9, 2018

A Sun City Anthem Resident Editorial


Sun City Anthem Resident Restaurant Evaluation
Deserves Special Notice

Image result for we get letters

by
Robert Lachford
Sun City Anthem Resident



or

Click on our Information Page

"Nevada Know How"

Old Photos...Keeping them Beautiful for the Next Generation

Old Photos: Their Memories Are Priceless
and
They Need to Be Cleaned Properly

scanning-old-photos-cleaning-photos-1024x743.jpg (1024×743)



or

See our Information Page...

"Why Didn't I Think About That ? ....Tips"

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Former SCA & FAS President Examines Restaurant Situation...Says it's a Job for Pros not Amateurs


Former President
of
Sun City Anthem & Foundation Assisting Seniors
Speaks Out on Restaurant Debacle
(Part Two of Two)

Image result for favil west
Favil West

 
or
 
Click on our Information Page
 
"Nevada Know How"

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Former Sun City Anthem President Addresses Restaurant Situation

Former President
of
Sun City Anthem & Foundation Assisting Seniors
Speaks Out on Restaurant Debacle
(Part One of Two)

Image result for favil west
 Favil West

or

Click on our Information Page

"Nevada Know How"

Monday, December 3, 2018

What to Do with a Narrow Hallway !

Turning a Narrow Hallway in Your Home into
A Work of Art

hall-9.jpg (320×375)


or

See our Information Page...

"Why Didn't I Think About That ? ....Tips"

What's Going On Down the Road in December

Laughlin Entertainment 

Celebrating 
the
Holidays

Related image

 
or
 
Click on our Information Page
 
"Laughlin Live...Weekend Entertainment"

Sunday, December 2, 2018

Is Sun City Anthem Being Lead Down a Path of Losing Complete Control of its Community ? An Anthem Opinions Editorial

Sun City Anthem Restaurant Poll
Just Another Deceptive Step to Control Your Life

Image result for control freak


or

Click on our Information Page

"Nevada Know How"

Baby, It's Getting Cold Outside....and...That Means Avoiding the High Costs of Your Outside Pipes & Faucets from Freezing

Winter is rapidly approaching and a few steps of precaution can help you save time, aggravation and expense over the colder months.

Don't forget...part of winter in the Las Vegas valley means...

Protecting Pipes and Hoses During Winter Months


 Image result for preventing outside faucets from freezing

CLICK HERE for Full Information

or

Click on our Information Page...

 "Mr. Fix-It's World of Home Improvement"

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Mary Lee Post

Another Restaurant Decision?
 You Have to be Kidding.

An Opinion by a Recent Former Resident.
Mary Lee Duley

Mary Lee Duley lived in Sun City Anthem from 2006 until her relocation in 2017 to Texas.  She still follows events here in SCA and now has a basis for comparison to other communities. What follows are her comments on the current state of affairs at SCA stimulated with the question of having a restaurant again after multiple failures.

Mary Lee says, “Here’s some info you can digest anyway you desire”.

Let me start with the so-called opinion poll with one question. Yes or No.  Opinion poll? What is the difference when the board reverses a formal vote and a lawsuit is filed when the vote said no? Does that mean a formal vote is also just an opinion poll?  How inconsistent. Now they want an opinion on a restaurant operation that has a history of failure even when heavily subsidized by the board with your money?

What have I learned since relocation?  Actually I knew this but have just reconfirmed my thoughts. The reason that my new association out here in Texas is outstanding is that they have intelligent people on the BOD that do NOT make decisions affecting our community unless the ideas are discussed and the community grants consent for the project or rules.  It is a small country club atmosphere, with a very active and supportive community, and no oversized egos trying to take over. The covenants and restrictions are very specific and they are followed to the T…no exceptions.  


We moved to SCA in 2006 and I attended every meeting until Dan Troia, former president of the board, cut off my microphone at the podium. This was done at the meeting when they changed the name (stupidly, in my opinion) from Security Patrol to Community Patrol. He cut me off at the microphone midway thru my comments. I finished talking and walked out the door.  I then began to build my database of residents as I felt it would be a more “informative” way to communicate. While living at Sun City Anthem, I started writing my opinions on issues that concerned me and obviously concerned many others.  I first sent my comments to a few friends but that quickly spread to others that must have felt as I did and wanted to hear my opinion of association issues.  I created a mailing list of hundreds of residents just to read my emails.  I never solicited anyone to join my email information but it continued to grow over the years as more controversy occurred in Sun City Anthem.  My husband and I moved out of SCA in 2017 to another community.  At the time of my move, my emails were being distributed to a few hundred people.  My distribution was all by word of mouth.

The SAME good ole boy network seems to be running SCA currently and has been since I moved there and their minions are still in place. How sad for all.  David, the owner of Anthem Journal, has negated qualified and smart residents that considered and/or tried to run with his lies, distortions, etc. over the years and, SADLY, it doesn’t seem that man will never change. It amazes me that the BOD, the GM, and whoever “GIVE HIM SO MUCH POWER”.  You can’t fix stupid, I guess.  We have friends in SCA and I read other blogs regularly so am aware of most that is going on and chat with a few friends about it.  It’s the same ole baloney, they FEEL nothing can be done, tired of meetings where decisions were made prior to meetings and said “why bother”.  Heartbreaking. No doubt the Anthem Journal blog owner will, AT LAST, be able to offer criticism of me without receiving a response as I am no longer a resident of SCA and it’s water off a duck’s back.    

What is different at my current community?
At my current community, we are fully informed of everything relating to Barton Creek Lakeside Country Club in Spicewood, Texas and the main Barton Creek Country Club in Bee Cave, Texas, BEFORE it is even up for a vote. The board members have “qualified” backgrounds:  CPA, Construction Company owner, Business Owner, Lawyers with expertise in property management, and other qualified residents. Their experience is invaluable.   How very different and what a refreshing change, no high blood pressure here. Previously I could not attend a meeting there at SCA and watch the board members “talk to each other while residents were at the podium” (how rude), one even dozed off, two were writing something and I doubt if it related to the question being asked. The bottom line is that we have QUALIFIED board members here with appropriate backgrounds for the position that they hold (accountants, attorneys, business owners, restaurant owners, contractor company owners). They do extensive research before making a decision, which is unlike the SCA board (that has flown by the seat of their pants at least beginning in 2006 YTD).  SCA has always been an apathetic community as folks retire to ENJOY and HAVE FUN with all of the amenities (a restaurant is not an amenity). A restaurant that is open to the public is a profit making business, and I have elaborated on this for years at the podium, as did Rana Goodman and others but to no avail!  Gaming, given ALL the casinos and small pubs that offer it with cheap food, would be ridiculous at Anthem Center. It would change the ambience, and the same ole fools would be occupying a video poker machine during all hours. What can I say?  

Since I left SCA a year ago, it seems that nothing has changed for the better.  The same people (board members) are spending foolishly the residents’ money.

I have heard and read that most of the major financial decisions have nothing to do with the residents but are in the hands of the community manager and the high priced connected lawyer.  I followed the fiasco with the recall election where unidentified ballots were sent out and the board blamed the bloggers for inciting the issue. And the cost that appeared to be ordered by the manager with the encouragement of the new lawyer cost the community big dollars.  What is different at our current home is that our board is qualified to direct operations and the manager follows the lead of the board.  Not the reverse as what we see at SCA.  

We are extremely happy to be in a normal environment with good amenities and not watch our dollars being wasted by those that do not have the common sense to think of the community when decisions are made.  My best wishes to all at Sun City Anthem. 


Thursday, November 22, 2018

Welcome

REPRINT OF PREVIOUS ARTICLE
VOTING ON THE RESTAURANT?
(Some had difficulty reading)
by Forrest Fetherolf


The one question opinion poll is nothing more than a feeble attempt to con SCA residents to vote yes to have a restaurant.




The restaurant pros and cons are not accurate and misleading in many ways:


1) Restaurant would likely not pay for rent, utilities and property taxes.The estimate does not include cost for repair and maintenance of restaurant equipment and wear and tear on interior of restaurant by increased traffic. SCA would be exposed to additional liability for non-resident goers.
2) It is a known fact non-residents will not be attracted to the restaurant. No one would drive to the restaurant just for the view with all the competition within minutes on Eastern, soon to be more in the area of the Henderson Airport minutes west of SCA, Rounder’s is an example on Volunteer and Executive.

3) Local real estate agents have said many times the restaurant does not contribute to increased value of home sales. SCA has been without a restaurant most of time since established and home values have remained high with and without a restaurant.

4) Most, if not all, clubs are not willing to be forced to exclusive restaurant catering. SCA’s population is diversified with many nationalities and requires different styles of food. The clubs would not have any control of food choices and the costs. Several clubs have events with nearly 300 attendees, the ball room is the only location to handle that many.

Convert the space to multipurpose room’s pros and cons:

1) The cost to convert is only a guess at this point according to Forrest Quinn. The amount could be possibility less if negotiated properly. If $750,000 is correct, the increased cost is only $105 per roof top as a one-time pay if a special assessment is required.

2) The increase annual operating cost of $22 per roof is inaccurate.SCA residents already pay for all costs to maintain the space out of existing dues.

3) With about 60 charter clubs the additional space would eliminate the constant battle of clubs and residents to plan their events.

4) There is absolutely no evidence of demographics changing to require less space for clubs and events. History will show over the last few years more clubs have been formed and more residents are joining those clubs. An example is Woodchips which has grown to about 265 members with new members joining every year.

Under normal circumstance as a restaurant would be a nice thing to have. SCA has paid for and suffered through 5 out of 5 restaurant failures. Chances are the 6th restaurant will fail and residents will be stuck once again with the expense and back to square one with what to do with the space.


If common sense would prevail, SCA should give up another attempt for a restaurant and convert the additional space for club member events and usage for resident’s activities.