Sun City Anthem

Resident Reports of Concerning Neighborhood Crime Activity




Anthem Community Residents Reporting 
Safety Concerns


huge.49.248430.JPG (450×326)


Henderson Police Non-Emergency Telephone Number
(702) 267-5000
Option 2

Send your Reports to:

scaopinions@gmail.com 


From Rene Rosenberg...to...Anthem Opinions

ALERT!!!!!!!!!

On Sunday, August 12, 2018 there was a robbery of a a senior citizen while walking on Garberville Avenue in Desert Sky Village near the Janesville Place intersection.

This took place at 610 a.m.

Two(2) black men, at gun point, robbed the woman of her cell phone and house keys.

The two men were in a small black sedan. This is all of the description of the vehicle that is available now.

It was witnessed by other walkers in the area.

H.P.D has been called.

In the Community Patrol office on the bulletin board,  there was a posting of this occurrence.
  1. It wouldn't be appropriate for me to advertise for any specific company or individual on A.O. but in lieu of Uber or Lyft or a cab, there are SCA residents that are licensed and insured that advertise in the Spirit with private car services for rides to the airport at very reasonable rates. We have used and recommended one for years and he has become a personal friend. He meets us at baggage claim upon our return and I never have to be concerned that he will burglarize our home in our absence. When we make our travel plans I advise him our flights and never have to give it a second thought. All our friends have been extremely satisfied as well.
    Regardless - if you bother to have an alarm, add a motion sensor in your bedrooms !!!!
  1. From one of our Black Mountain neighbors.

    "I would like to alert all my neighbors to be aware of a black equinox Chevy, license # 379LSP.

    I noticed the car sitting on Merrimack, between Idaho Falls and Sawtooth Mt. at 8:00 in the morning.

    Coming back from aqua swimming class it was still sitting on Merrimack, but had moved down a little past Sawtooth.

    I drove up behind it and it took off.

    He had stop at the stop sign and that was when I was able to get the make and license number.

    I alerted patrol and called 311 and gave the Henderson police the information.

    When I started following him, he took off down Anthem Parkway.

    Please beware of cars or SUVs sitting on Merrimack."
  1. From a Sun City Anthem Resident

    Warning! Think twice about what you say to Uber/Lyft drivers if you use them to take you to the airport.

    Our neighbors home was burglarized this week here on our very quiet and what we thought was secure street in Sun City Anthem. In 15 years on the street, never had we had a burglary. Then they go away for a week and their chatty Uber drive asking them about where they are going and how long they would be gone is what we all believe now was like a billboard announcing their absence.

    The driver was the only one who knew their house was vacant. In the middle of one night this past week someone shows up with a glass cutter and suction cup to remove the window glass quietly and though the house was alarmed broke in through the master bathroom.. OOPS how many of us have our alarm coverage in our bathrooms or master bedrooms? The crook went through everything in those two rooms including search pockets in the closet and took valuables as they/he were only looking for cash and jewelry. They left the TVs as they/he did not want to be seen walking away with them down the street to where ever the car was parked.

    Point being even with security lights going on and off inside and an alarm, the house was broken into quietly and strategically knowing the people were gone! It sure as heck wasn't one of us close neighbors who also did not know they were gone for a week. Second point is the lesson here is do not go away and not let your neighbors know you are leaving so we/they can be even more watchful. I agree with the neighbors that it is very likely the Uber driver either returned or had contacts he gave the address and even our gate code to so the house could be safely broken into.

    It was also strange the Uber driver was not driving the vehicle they were to pick them up in as well, though his picture was the same. Not sure that matters. I think you will all agree where there is smoke, there is likely a fire so keep your mouth closed if you use a stranger to take you to the airport for a vacation. Who would have thought?. I have reported this information to the police.
  1. Henderson Police have arrested a man for two robberies, after he robbed a Citibank branch, located at 10211 S. Eastern Ave., in two separate incidents. 

    Thirty-one-year-old Anthony Hylton was arrested Jan. 31 without incident. Detectives were able to identify and locate Hylton based on surveillance video and witness descriptions that captured both the suspect and the vehicle used in the crimes. On Oct. 7, 2016, the suspect entered the Citibank, located at 10211 S. Eastern Ave., at about 10 a.m. He displayed a handgun and demanded money from bank employees. The suspect then fired one round into the ground from a .45 caliber handgun. He stole an undisclosed amount of cash and ran out of the bank. He then entered a black SUV and fled the scene. 

    On Jan. 17, 2017 at about 12 p.m., the suspect entered the same Citibank location and demanded money after brandishing a firearm. Bank employees recognized the suspect as the same suspect from the previous robbery. The suspect stole an undisclosed amount of cash from the teller drawer and fled the scene in the same black SUV. 

    No one was injured during either of the two robberies. 

    Hylton is being held in the Henderson Detention Center on charges of robbery
  1. Report from Anthem Highlands....

    A house on Lochleven Way is up for rent and by appointment only with a sign posted in front of the home. 

    Today a black female entered the backyard and tried to open the rear slider. 

    She got spooked by a person walking by and ran off with her kids. 

    She fled in a blue dirty no window tint Dodge Journey 856-AZP NV

    It has been called into police. 

    All the potential renters have come with agents previously. 

    It's very easy for squatters to "move in," it's harder to get them evicted.
  2. The Henderson Police Department is alerting the public about a scam where suspects pose as NV Energy employees in an attempt to collect payments.

    Suspects call the victim claiming to be from NV Energy and demand that outstanding balances be paid to prevent their power from being turned off.

    The suspects are able to falsely represent their phone number to display as NV Energy on a caller ID system. Victims are also given a callback number that uses voice prompts that mimic a legitimate NV Energy phone system which makes this scam even more believable to unsuspecting victims.

    The suspect callers are both male and female and call both businesses and residences. They typically demand payment through the use of a Green Dot or MoneyPak prepaid card.

    NV Energy does not call customers to demand immediate payment for any reason.

    Customers who may be at risk of having their power disconnected because of nonpayment will receive a 10-day and 48-hour notice via U.S. Mail.

    If customers receive a call demanding payment, refuse it and notify the Henderson Police Department. You can also contact NV Energy at 702-402-5555 to verify.

    Anyone with information in this case is urged to call the Henderson Police Department at 702-267-4911, 3-1-1, or, to remain anonymous, call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555 or visit Crime Stoppers website or text: “CRIMENV” + tip info to 274637 (CRIMES). Message & data rates may apply.

    Tips directly leading to a felony arrest or an indictment processed through Crime Stoppers may result in a cash reward.
  3. There is the "stereo speakers scam".

    In this one, an individual stops you and attempts to sell what he refers to as "extra high end speakers" for pennies on the dollar.

    In reality, they are worthless.
  1. Be aware of the "clothes scam".

    Often seen near banks, these individuals will stop you and tell you that they are lost and need directions.

    A white van was seen at the Chase Bank and approached an individual stating he had "designer clothes" that had been left over from a show on the Strip...that he had to sell them to catch a plane on time.

    The "stuff" is wrapped nicely and after paying the individual, he heads off until you open the package and realize the merchandise is junk...that you've been cheated.
  1. Shadow Canyon Village Residents

    You are invited to our annual Neighborhood Watch meeting.

    Monday, March 20,2017 6:00P.M.In the Delaware Room at the Anthem Center.

    We will have several speakers concerning safety tips, security issues, and community concerns, including an officer from the Henderson Police Department, a representative of the SCA Community Patrol,and an expert in home security systems. Don’t miss this important meeting. Working together we can make our community safer.

    Questions? Contact Bob Godfried at:

    shadowcanyonwatch@gmail.com
  2. 54-year-old Darnell Webster of Henderson was arrested on Friday, February 24, 2017 for allegedly striking the face of an 80-year-old woman while she played a nickel slot machine at Sunset Station Casino.

    The suspect then stole the woman's purse and fled the casino on foot, according to a Henderson Police release.

    Henderson police were able to identify Webster through surveillance video where he was seen using the victims credit cards. During the investigation, police also concluded that the suspect's vehicle was embezzled from a Henderson Kia dealership.

    Officers arrested Webster at his home near Gibson Road and West Warm Springs Road without incident. Evidence relating to the burglary was found inside the home.

    Webster was booked into the Henderson Detention Center and faces multiple charges including robbery and burglary. 
  1. It's been reported at a car has been ransacked at approximately 9:00m on Blooming Valley Court in Pinnacle Village.

    A black car was waiting a few houses down, so the thief was able to get away fast.

    Police were called and came out promptly, took a report, and dusted for fingerprints.

    Always lock you car.

  1. This just in from the Henderson Police Dept.

    Henderson Police are seeking the public’s help to identify a man who robbed a beauty supply store and assaulted an employee on Thursday, Feb. 23 at about 10:15 a.m.

    The robbery occurred at the Sally Beauty Supply located at 617 N. Stephanie St. in Henderson.

    The suspect entered the beauty supply store, produced a firearm and hit the female employee on the left side of the face. The clerk received numerous lacerations and was transported to Sunrise Hospital.

    The suspect is described as a black adult male, approximately 30 years old, 6 feet to
    6 feet 2 inches tall, medium build, approximately 220 pounds with a mustache and goatee.

    The suspect was last seen running from the beauty supply store wearing a navy blue jacket, dark pants and a blue and gray striped beanie with a ball on top.

    Anyone with information in this case is urged to call the Henderson Police Department at 702-267-4911, 3-1-1, or, to remain anonymous, call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555 or visit Crime Stoppers website or text: “CRIMENV” + tip info to 274637 (CRIMES). Message & data rates may apply. Tips directly leading to a felony arrest or an indictment processed through Crime Stoppers may result in a cash reward.
  1. From The Henderson Police Department:

    The best way to secure sliding glass doors in residences.

    It turns out there are a multitude of ways that sliding glass doors can be secured.

    The cheapest and quickest way is to cut a plastic pipe or a broom handle and place it in the gutter behind the closed door. This will eliminate the door from being slid open if the locking mechanism fails.

    If you go to any home improvement store, there will be many options of mechanical items you can purchase and install on your sliding doors to make them more secure.

    The best options we have seen include a combination of the existing locking mechanism, a secondary device to keep the door from sliding and a safety laminate placed on the glass portion of the door.

    The safety laminate is a clear film that makes your windows and glass doors much like the windshield of your automobile. The glass will break but the laminate keeps it in place causing an intruder to have to poke, pry and kick the broken glass out to make entry into your home.

    By using these three methods of securing your sliding glass doors, you have hardened your target and set deterrents in place to protect yourself and your property.
  1. Latest news regarding the Dodge Charger suspicious vehicle reported:

    Nevada License Plate: 147 YPK
  1. Anther report was that US Bank has been taped off indicating some kind of disturbance. No further information as to whether the previous post of the suspicious vehicle had any involvement.
  1. It has been reported that at approximately 1:00pm on Saturday, February 11, 2017, the automobile matching the reported description (black sedan with black rims) was stopped in Seven Hills by 6 Henderson Police vehicles.

    It was also reported that 2 males were sitting on a curb near the Seven HIlls tennis courts.

    The individual making the siting returned approximately one hour later, and witnessed the said vehicle being loaded on a tow truck.

    No confirmation if these were the suspects being sought following the recent report.
  1. Another Sun City Anthem Break-in

    There was another robbery today iin Tall Mesa Village on Wildwood Lake St.in Sun City Anthem.

    It has been reported the intruders threw a brick through the patio door, filled homeowners pillow cases worth jewelry and cash, and departed.

    This seems to be the most common mode of theft experienced in the community.

  1. More on the stolen car in the previous post...from the Henderson Police Dept.

    Henderson Police are searching for a suspect who attempted to steal several ATM machines and stole two vehicles this morning.

    Henderson Police dispatchers received a 9-1-1 call about a male who entered the Walgreens at 401 N. Arroyo Grande Blvd. and placed a heavy chain around a free-standing ATM near the front door. The suspect then pulled the ATM out of the store with a stolen black Dodge Journey. As he attempted to leave, Henderson Police officers arrived at the Walgreens. A short pursuit occurred with the suspect traveling south on North Stephanie Road.

    The suspect crashed the stolen vehicle into a wall near Santiago Drive and North Stephanie Road and fled on foot. The suspect hid from officers inside a residence. A perimeter was established around the neighbors surrounding North Stephanie Road, Santiago Drive, North Arroyo Grande Boulevard and Trail Canyon Road. The suspect then stole a 2006 grey Land Cruiser with Nevada license plate, 282SYG from a garage and fled the area. Henderson Police officers, K-9s, Metro Air and K-9 officers have been involved in the search.

    The suspect is described as a white male, 30 years old, 5 feet 10 inches tall, 200 pounds, with brown hair and blue eyes. He was last seen wearing a grey hoodie sweatshirt, tan hat; light blue jeans with grey and white sneakers. He is considered armed and dangerous.

    It is believed the suspect may have also been involved with the attempted burglary of another ATM at the InTouch Credit Union, located at 4299 E. Sunset Rd. early this morning.

    No one has been injured during this incident.

    Anyone with information in this case is urged to call the Henderson Police Department at 702-267-4911, 3-1-1, or, to remain anonymous, call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555 or visit Crime Stoppers website or text: “CRIMENV” + tip info to 274637 (CRIMES). Message & data rates may apply. Tips directly leading to a felony arrest or an indictment processed through Crime Stoppers may result in a cash reward.
  1. Henderson Police are searching for a stolen 2006 grey Landcruiser

    NV Licence Plate: 282SYG
  1. Henderson Police arrested 38-year-old Mario Alston for two counts of sexual assault with a child under 14.
    Henderson Police determined that Alston met the 13-year-old victim online in early January, and they continued communication with each other using the Kik Messenger application.

    The girl provided her address to Alston for a prearranged meeting. Alston showed up to her door, entered her residence and sexually assaulted her.

    On Feb. 1, Henderson Police contacted Alston at his Las Vegas address where he was subsequently arrested without incident.

    Alston was booked into the Henderson Detention Center on two counts of sexual assault with a child under 14.
  1. A burglary was reported on February 5, 2017 on the 2700 block of Fort Myer Avenue in Sun City Anthem.

    No other details are available at this time.
  1. Description of person involved in post with California license plate 89839A1:

    Hair: Gray blonde, Top: White shirt, Shoes: Tennis shoes, Age: late 50s, Build: 5'.8", Race: White, Sex: Male 
    ReplyDelete
  1. There has been a report of a White Ford Cargo Van that has been seen in numerous areas of the Anthem Communities who apparently is seen numerously during the day, then leaves in the evening. The Van apparently does not have a current License Tag.


    The license plate is California 89839A1.

    If you see this vehicle, please notify the Henderson P.D.
  1. From a former Los Angeles Police Officer

    The description of the black 4 door sedan is the same HPD has been looking for.

    The sedan is an early 2000 Cadillac with two young male suspects.

    You are the second resident in the last month to observe the vehicle cruising SCA...hopefully someone will be alert enough to get the vehicle license number.

    That could give HPD a clue to solve many of the burglaries.

    This type of crime is a burglary not robbery.

    The difference is...

    Burglary is entering a vehicle or structure with intent to commit theft or other crime.

    Robbery is the taking of property from a person using force or fear.

    Burglars do not want to be seen,,,robbers are seen. 
  1. A black four door sedan was seen following the mailman dropping off packages.

    They also tried to kick a front door open.

    All we know is that it took place in Sun City Anthem. We have no other information.

    It is hoped the individual who reported this to the Henderson Police Department has additional information to share with the community. 
  1. Las Vegas Metro police are searching for a man in connection with an armed robbery at the Silverton Hotel-Casino Tuesday night.

    Officers said a suspect got behind the sportsbook counter on the casino floor at about 8:30 p.m. and threatened employees with a gun while demanding money.

    The suspect pointed a firearm at the clerks and ordered them to fill his duffel bag with cash. The employees complied according to Metro.

    Police said the suspect then exited the casino near the parking garage and left in a gold 2000 Chevy Tahoe.

    The vehicle was last seen traveling eastbound on Blue Diamond Road.

    The wanted man was described by police as a black male, believed to be in his 30s and approximately 6 feet tall. He was last seen wearing a dark hoodie, sunglasses, dark pants and armed with a black handgun.

    No injuries were initially reported in the robbery according to authorities. 
  1. There is a report of a home burglarized on the evening of January 22nd on Brandermill Avenue in Anthem County Club.

    While the people in the home slept, someone entered through the rear slider, found keys for a Mercedes and left with the car and a few personal items and cash.

    Some items were recovered nearby, but the White Mercedes S550 is still missing.

    Please be on lookout for the car..
  1. Henderson Police are seeking the public’s help to identify a man who was involved in an attempted robbery and death of an employee at a Jared the Galleria of Jewelry last night.

    The suspect entered the jewelry store, located at 1071 W. Sunset Rd., at about 8:45 p.m. brandishing a gun.

    A security guard inside the Jared attempted to subdue the suspect and fired his weapon, missing the suspect.

    A 57 year-old female employee was hit by the security guard’s round.

    The suspect then fled on foot, heading westbound on West Sunset Road.

    He escaped without any merchandise or cash.

    The female employee was transported to Sunrise Hospital in critical condition.

    She succumbed to her injuries at the hospital.

    The suspect is described as an adult black male, 5 feet 6 inches to 5 feet 10 inches tall, 140 to 150 pounds, last seen wearing a red and black hoodie sweatshirt, black pants, a black mask and a dark colored hat or beanie.

    The suspect also had a dark colored backpack or bag.

    Per NRS 200.030, the suspect is facing murder charges as the killing was committed during the commission or attempted commission of a robbery.

    He will also be charged with attempted robbery when arrested.

    The identity of the victim will be released by the Clark County Coroner’s Office.

    Anyone with information in this case is urged to call the Henderson Police Department at 702-267-4911, 3-1-1, or, to remain anonymous, call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555 or visit Crime Stoppers website or text: “CRIMENV” + tip info to 274637 (CRIMES).

    Message & data rates may apply.

    Tips directly leading to a felony arrest or an indictment processed through Crime Stoppers may result in a cash reward.
  1. From Anthem Highlands

    Are you concerned landscapers have closed a lane on Anthem Parkway during the School and Work commuting time?

    I contacted the City of Henderson and this is how Thomas Bailey responded:

    "This is an issue that we have been working very hard into resolving. The landscaping companies are not supposed to begin work or setup their barricades until 9am. They have until 230pm to work as well. I will again contact the companies, if this persists please let me know and if you are able to, send pictures to my email; Thomas.bailey@cityofhenderson.com."

    It appears that not much will be done unless the City of Henderson hears many complaints. Please voice your concern to Mr. Thomas Bailey. 
  2. Follow-up from Anthem Highlands

    One of the specifics I notice is that they set up the cones way before (I can understand that for safety reasons; however they don't take them down to change the configuration long after they finish a section.

    Also they set up the cones far past where they are working which is also a problem.

    There is no warning that you are going to encounter this.

    There is nothing on TV or anywhere else I know to learn of this in advance.

    I run a video production company and have to often be on the strip at certain times.

    Let me repeat, I HAVE TO BE THERE because an event is starting at a specific time.

    Often we are talking about leaving very early.

    I always leave myself extra time, but to lose 10 or 15 minutes that I was not expecting, can cause a big problem.

    They do the same thing on Eastern Avenue.

    I've lived here since 2002 and can't believe how people doing this work don't realize how disruptive it is to traffic flow and people's business needs.

    Where I come from in NY, the local government wouldn't allow it to happen.

    And while I'm complaining about this, the same thing with accident investigations where they shut down roads for most of a day.

    Where I come from in NY, the objective was to get the lanes open as soon as possible to avoid disruption.

    Here they'll inconvenience 100s of thousands of people and think that is just the way it should be.

    Government in Southern Nevada has to stop thinking it's a small town.
  1. From our neighbors in Inspirada comes this concern:

    Just a reminder that if the yellow lights are flashing at the Bicentennial crosswalk, it means that someone pushed the button and is attempting to cross the street safely.

    It is the law- you stop and let pedestrians cross!

    I was walking with my 10, 8 and 4 year old - pushed the button, yet watched a few cars blow right past the flashing lights before a white car stopped to let us cross.

    I told my kids to hurry as to not hold them up when a Jeep came flying up behind the white car and decided to change lanes to pass the stopped car and almost hit my 8 year old.

    Thank goodness I yelled "Stop" as loud as I could. The Jeep and my daughter both stopped, avoiding a HORRIBLE accident.

    Even writing this, my heart is racing and I feel a panic of what could have happened.

    I used this as a lesson for my kids that they have to make eye contact and look for cars still approaching and use extra caution.

    We were being extra careful and it was still dangerous.

    So please, pay attention to those lights.

    They only flash when someone hits the crosswalk button.

    Be aware and careful while driving!
  2. A follow Up Regarding Flashing Pedestrian Lights

    I get passed all the time coming up Anthem Parkway by people doing double the speed limit past the park where they have another one of those flashing lights cross walks.

    Where are the police?
  3. Another Break-In in Sun City Anthem...This time on Preston Park Drive...Same Method of Entry Often Used by Other Offenders

    One of the homes on Preston Park Drive was broken into today.

    They broke in through the back slider by prying it off the track.

    The bedroom was ransacked, the pillow cases were gone and so was a bunch of jewelry.

    The black or Hispanic man was seen jumping into the back of an older, white BMW with a loud muffler.

    If you see this car, please get the license plate number!

    If you have a slider, you might want to get a $5 dowel to put in the track.

    Anything to make it harder to get in!!

    This information has all been reported to the police.
  1. This morning, after the rubbish bins were set out (7:30), an old, small, black suspicious pickup truck drove up Thunder Bay Ave. and turned around at the intersection at Fairweather St.in Golf Mesa.

    It appeared to be casing out the area.


  1. A large number of individuals have receiving fake scam calls identifying themselves as the "Windows Support Department" and your computer has been breached for a long time.

    Now we have another scam being reported stating that are from " Apple Support Team" also saying your computer has been breached. 

    Both a scams and you should immediately hang up on the caller.
  1. From Revere Golf Course...to...Anthem Opinions

    Just spoke with some undercover police officers a little bit ago and have heard about the disturbing number of home break in's that have been occurring in Sun City lately. They have asked us to keep an eye out for any suspicious people or activities.

    From the sounds of things they are accessing homes via the golf course. I know we haven't had many marshall shifts lately due to slow play, but please do your best to keep an eye out and help the community.


    Thank you
  2. From Neighbor/ Anthem & Seven Hills 

    t seems that Security Film has become a big issue as of late and most of the people that I have talked to about this topic are fairly uninformed. 

    I took the time to try to better understand this issue the other day. After talking to a few folks that seemed to know about this topic, I called Andy Mensch who has become popular among users of the safety film. 

    You too can call Andy at 702-762-4739 to learn lots more. 

    At first I must admit that I thought it was a waste of time and money but after a better understanding of what it is meant to do and how it could and should be used, I am feeling more positive about it's use. 

    You need to know a few things in making a decision about safety film and tinting. 

    Do you need it all over your home or just in Key Places (Patio Doors) 

    Why is the patio door the most popular point of entry for burglars? 

    Are you interested in UV protection in addition to security? 
    What kind of glass do you have, tempered or plate glass and why should you care. 

    I was asked to write an article on a blog to address what I found in my investigation. 

    You can see the full article with answers to these and other questions on the blog www.anthemopinions.blogspot.com

    It is under the "Making our Neighborhoods Safe" section
    The blog is free and you can sign up. 

    I hope this information is helpful.
  1. Message from reader...re: 2600 block of Olivia Heights Avenue in Sun City Anthem

    Our master bedroom French door was broken into.

    We have an alarm which detected the motion once they entered. And we had security film on all of our windows.

    They came in a 7 pm.

    Stole jewelry, money, designer purses, etc.

    Broke into our locked master closet by kicking it in.

    They can get in if they want to. 

  2. Just learned of another burglary in SCA. A neighbor on Colvin Run Drive in Golf Mesa was burglarized yesterday evening while at dinner.

    Broke in through back sliding glass door.
  1. Henderson Police arrested 30-year-old Daniel Andrews Tuesday afternoon in connection with multiple robberies in Henderson and Las Vegas. 

    On Dec. 5 just before 8 p.m., Andrews entered the Jack in the Box at 5 S. Gibson Rd. and demanded money from the register while brandishing a firearm. 

    A second robbery occurred on Dec. 14 at about 9:10 p.m., when Andrews entered the Outback Steakhouse at 521 N. Stephanie St. demanding money from the register. 

    On Dec. 20 at about midnight, the same suspect entered the In-N-Out Burger at 1051 W. Sunset Rd., where he again demanded money while brandishing a firearm. 

    A fourth robbery in Henderson occurred on Dec. 22 around 8:20 p.m., at the PT’s Pub at 10075 S. Eastern Ave. involving the same suspect. 

    Andrews drove a 2002 Silver Ford Focus during several of the robberies. 

    No one was injured during the robberies. 

    Detectives identified Andrews as the suspect in all of the robberies. On Tuesday, Jan. 3, Henderson Police located Andrews at the Henderson Municipal Courthouse where he was arrested. 

    Andrews was subsequently booked into the Henderson Detention Center on four counts of robbery with a deadly weapon and four counts of burglary with a deadly weapon. His booking photo is attached. 

    Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department is conducting follow up on the two additional robberies that were committed by Andrews in Las Vegas. 
  1. We just saw 3 coyotes in our backyard in the 2000 block of Colvin Run Drive at 9:15am on 1/3/17.

    They were able to jump a 6 foot block wall and go straight through a wrought iron fence with no difficulties.

    PET OWNERS BEWARE!!

    Do not leave your pets outside unaccompanied, PLEASE!!

  1. On the 5th hole of the Lexington Golf Course:

    Yesterday, January 1st, it was reported that 8 (that's correct, 8) adult coyote were sited and moving East to West.

    It was quite a sight.
  1. Coyote spotted at 2695 Evergreen Oaks Dr.

  2. Coyotes on Scotts Valley and /Baton Rouge/Sumter Valley Drives.

    Saw 3 large coyotes coming off the golf course this morning at 8:30am.

    So many people walk their little dogs by this golf course every day, and should consider an air horn (or noisemakers from New Years?) to scare them off if you're walking.
  1. We have been advised that there is a Red Rodeo SUV on the 2800 block of Meadow Park Ave. in Sun City Anthem that may be doing some landscaping work.

    We have been notified this vehicle has 2 Latino workers and is unlicensed to do such work.

    Please ask any and all landscapers to produce both a license and proof of insurance before you contact them.

    Any injury sustained in the absence of such evidence can and likely make you RESPONSIBLE as a result of employing an unlicensed and/or uninsured firm.

    We ask anyone who witnesses landscaping vehicles without displaying the name of the company and the license number to report this to the Henderson Police and send Anthem opinions an email in order that we may report this on our "Resident Reports of Concerning Crime Activity" Information Page.
  1. Henderson Police arrested 34-year-old Ignacio Barragan Jr. Thursday afternoon in connection with multiple robberies in Henderson.

    On Dec. 22 at about 3:25 a.m., an employee reported an armed robbery had occurred at the AM/PM located at 15 W. Horizon Ridge Pkwy. The suspect had entered the store and demanded money from the register. The same suspect had committed similar robberies at other AM/PM locations in Henderson where he used a knife to threaten the clerks while demanding money.

    On Dec. 22 around 12:45 p.m., Henderson Police served a search warrant where Barragan Jr. was residing at the 2000 block of Fallsburg Way in Henderson and he was arrested without incident.

    Barragan Jr. was subsequently booked into the Henderson Detention Center on three charges of robbery with a deadly weapon and three counts of burglary with a deadly weapon.

    Anyone with information in this case is urged to call the Henderson Police Department at 702-267-4911, 3-1-1, or, to remain anonymous, call Crime Stoppers at 702-385-5555 or visit Crime Stoppers website or text: “CRIMENV” + tip info to 274637 (CRIMES). Message & data rates may apply. Tips directly leading to a felony arrest or an indictment processed through Crime Stoppers may result in a cash reward.
  2. We would love a police presence with radar/speed detectors on High Mesa.

    9 out of 10 cars are speeding and it's even hard to cross the street as they are nowhere in sight or within hearing distance when we start to cross.

    Many drivers are on their cell phones and riding in the gutter!

    I'd estimate that many cars are going 40 to 55 mph--easily- on our street.

    One lady just swerved around me, not braking at all.

    This goes on all day--not at certain hours. It's scary and not safe.

    The road to Anthem has a speed detector on a speed limit sign. That would be nice on our section of Horizon Ridge.

    I notice a LOT of expired registration tags. Daily.

    My insurance. agent told me if my vehicle isn't registered, and I have an accident, they will not pay.

    I was behind a woman in the Post.Office lot and told her that she had an expired registration- Ootober. She was driving a big, white, late model Infiniti SUV.

    She said "I know I should get it."

    I told her if she was in an accident, her insurance will not pay if her vehicle doesn't have proper registration.
  1. The holiday season is always a special time of year. It is also time when busy people become careless and vulnerable to theft and other crimes. We can never be too careful, too prepared or too aware.

    Be cautious when throwing out cardboard boxes after the holidays. Boxes displaying the types of gifts you received such as televisions, stereos, etc. are like billboards to thieves. Cut boxes into small pieces and tape them together with the labels facing in. If possible, wait until the morning of your pick-up before putting them to the curb.

    Be extra cautious about locking doors and windows when you leave the house, even for a few minutes. When leaving home for an extended time, have a neighbor or family member watch your house and pick up your newspapers and mail. Indoor and outdoor lights should be on an automatic timer. Leave a radio or television on so the house looks and sounds occupied.

    If you have opened the garage door, to get some last minute yard work or other outside project completed, be sure to close those doors when you step inside for a lunch break. It only takes a minute for a criminal to grab items stored in the garage.

    Always lock your vehicle and store all items out of sight. Breaking into an empty car isn't worth a thief's time. However, anything left in plain view—from your holiday gifts to spare change, sunglasses, cell phones or briefcases—may tempt a thief. 
  2. If you keep a garage door opener in your vehicle make sure it is out of sight, if your car gets broken into in your driveway they now have access to your garage/house.
  1. A break in attempt last night on Olivia Heights in Sun City Anthem.

    The home is equipped with an alarm system.

    A window was broken and police were dispatched.

    Owners were not at home.

    I have reported this information to the police.
  1. I didn't think much of it until I started reading everyone else's "suspicious" posts.

    We were just coming home from a short trip and there was a strange car sitting in front of our house.

    We live on a corner lot in Inspirada, and there were PLENTY of other places on the street to park.

    My husband approached him and he said he was "just waiting for someone."

    He pulled around the corner and then took off.

    He was a white male maybe in his mid 20's in a blue Nissan Rogue, Nevada License Plate 444 YGT.
  2. Large Black pick-up truck traveling approximately 45 mph westbound on Scotts Valley Drive at approximately 10:40am on December 19th in Sun City Anthem.

    Windows were darkened and could not see driver.

    Truck turned around at corner of Scotts Valley Drive and Lemon Grove Street, and drive down the hill on Scotts Valley Drive at a very slow speed observing homes.

    Nevada License Plate: 617 729.
  1. Report from Inspirada

    Person stood in front of door for two minutes.

    They did not ring the bell or knock and appeared to be noting something on their phone.

    They then appeared to walk away.

    I did not see a vehicle. I have reported this information to the police.

    Description of person involved:

    Sex: male
    Age: approximately 30 years
    Build: slender
    Hair: black

    Clothing:
    Top
    blue jacket
    Bottom
    blue jeans
  1. Suspicious looking pumpkin colored open back truck cruising Cordaville Drive in Sun City Anthem this morning about 9:00 am.

    At least 2 people, passenger was Man with sunglasses, window rolled down checking out houses as they drove by.

    Didn't really think anything of it until they drove by 3 times.

    No name of any company on the truck.

    I called the non emergency police number who sent a police car about 15 mins later.

    Please keep an eye out for them! I have reported this information to the police.
  2. The Henderson Police Department took three reports for burglaries yesterday afternoon in Sun City Anthem.

    They all seem related and there were no witnesses that can identify the suspects.
    One was on Warrington Drive and there were two on Fieldbrook Street.

    Access was gained by breaking a window at the rear of the houses.

    The detectives will see if these incidents match suspects they are investigating.
  3. Many people in the Anthem communities get to Green Valley Ranch or The District by traveling northbound on Eastern Avenue and turning right on Sunridge Heights Parkway. The first traffic light you approach traveling in that direction is Sandy Ridge Avenue.

    A retired University of Nevada, Las Vegas professor has been identified as the victim of a homicide near that location in Henderson.

    It might not be part of the Anthem communities, but it's close enough to be concerning.
    According to the Clark County Coroner’s Office, 76-year-old Dr. Leroy Pelton died from multiple stab wounds.

    The manner was ruled a homicide.

    Pelton was a professor in the school of social work, according to UNLV's website. He started teaching at the campus in 1997 and retired in 2013.

    Henderson police found Pelton deceased in a home in the 2500 block of Swans Chance Avenue, near Sunridge Heights Parkway and Sandy Ridge Avenue on Saturday, December 10th.

    Neighbors asked police to do a welfare check on Pelton after they reported not seeing or hearing from him since early November.
  1. From Forrest Fetherolf...former LAPD Officer...to...Anthem Opinions

    As a retired LAPD Officer, I have lived in Sun City Anthem for 9 years.

    I have attended meeting after meeting trying to convince the Board of Directors to allow the Community Patrol, The Spirit, or eblasts to alert residents of crime statistics.

    I was a member of the Community Patrol for a very short while when I moved to SCA.

    I became very dismayed with the restrictions placed on the Community Patrol due to the liability aspect and total lack of training provided for the dedicated patrol members volunteering their retirement time to help keep us safe.

    The excuses I received from board members go like this:

    We don't want to scare the old people.

    We don't want new buyers or the public to know that crime exists in SCA.

    We think it will decrease property values.

    Yes, it is true crime is lower in Sun City Anthem and Solera...but it does exist, and should not be hushed.

    Reporting crime has two advantages.

    1) making residents aware and alerting them to be on the look-out for suspicious activity.

    2) showing crime is very low in our community and the safest place to live in the Las Vegas area.

    I reported a burglary in one of my rentals a few days ago.

    The tenants were totally unaware that crime occurred in Sun City Anthem and very concerned when the daylight burglary was committed with their 90 year old blind father asleep in the bedroom.

    This could have been a tragedy if the burglars became aggressive.

    Fortunately they decided to run.

    The tenants are in the process of installing exterior and interior cameras to help them safe.

    Within a day after I reported the Shadow Canyon burglary on Anthem Opinions describing the possible suspects as two young black men driving a older dark sedan...another resident reported observing suspects that fit that description driving a Charcoal Grey early 2000 Cadillac cruising Anthem Drive and Thunder Bay.
  1. Forwarded excerpts of correspondence from a Sun City Anthem Neighborhood Watch Contributor...to...Anthem Opinions

    This is the latest I have received on the issue of burglaries...Keep alert, vigilant and call the police for any suspicious activity especially in lieu of the holiday times where people can be unfortunately vulnerable as we go about our busier than normal days and trips to see loved ones....

    Be safe, keep your neighborhood safe and look out for everyone and report things you see that do not seem right....take pictures of cars license plates. get car model and colors that have been around and not held accounted for...and then report them so the police have something to work with. Get people's descriptions as much as possible.

    I get my info from HPD.

    Captain Mattoon sends me and the patrol a monthly report of reported incidents.

    Since January 2016, there have been a total of 43 burglaries reported through 11/30 in Solera and Anthem.

    The 43 incidents include incidents that occurred in Solera.

    I have to separate the Solera info from the Anthem info.

    Even so, that is STILL Less than 1% for our 7144 homes. If the number of incidents exceeds 75 that's over 1%.

    We are sorry for the victims of any type of crime. We have to be more proactive.

    Everyone should report ALL suspicious people and incidents.

    Our people seem to be afraid to call the police.

    Why?

    Some people love excitement and they love to excite.

    A year's summary will be sent to each facilitator for their village's HPD Incident Report, sometime in January after we receive the December HPD report.

    These are FACTS from earlier years:

    Burglary Incidents in Anthem from Alert ID - 2015 = 32, 2014 = 35

    We should expect more incidents since we have larger roadways and more people surrounding us.

    When I sent info about the city's proposed growth - people complained, saying it has nothing to do with Neighborhood Watch.

    I guess people do not realize that what happens in our surroundings has a lot to do with our safety.

    Some people do not report crime. Therefore, there is no record.

    We have been trying to get anybody, yes, anybody to follow up on the police's suggestion of getting a license reader at each our 3 entrances.

  2. From Tim Stebbins...to...Anthem Opinions

    Dick,

    You have written some great articles about the recent robberies/burglaries in our area.

    A couple of neighbors have told me they got their home insurance bill in for 2017 - and it took a big jump over 2016.

    They contacted their insurance company to inquire and were told the increase was due to "a lot of burglaries in your area".

    That issue could affect all of us.
  1. From Al M...to...Anthem Opinions

    On Dec.12 at 7:30 AM I was leaving my garage and noticed a car with 2 young black males driving by on Meadow Park Ave. in Golf Mesa Village.

    The car was a early 2000 model Cadillac chocolate color.

    They went to Thunder Bay Ave. and turned down Anthem Drive.

    I could not follow because of traffic.

  1. From LAPD...to...Anthem Opinions

    A burglary occurred on the 2200 block of Shadow Canyon Drive December 8, 2016, between 9:30 am and noon.

    Occupants left the house at 9:30 am and returned at noon to discover the master bedroom exterior door to patio had been kicked in.

    The occupant's 90 year old father was asleep in the front bedroom during the break-in.

    The father stated at about 10:30 am his bedroom became much warmer than normal.

    (Note, this was due to the exterior master bedroom door standing open, and thermostat in the hallway detecting the open door cold draft.

    Nothing appeared to be missing at the time of the police report.

    Apparently the suspect(s) left in a hurry.

    A pillow case was left inside by the exterior master bedroom door and the second pillow case was half off the master bed's pillow.

    This would indicate that more than one burglar entered.

    Only master bedroom was ransacked. It is possible the burglars were surprised to find someone in the house and fled.

    Henderson PD advised about 30 burglaries similar to this have occurred over the last few months in Anthem and Solera.

    They are looking for two young black males driving a older dark sedan.

    The burglars will knock on the front door; if no answer, they will go to the back of house and kick in the bedroom exterior door or smash the sliding door to gain entry.
    1. From Robert N...to...Anthem Opinions

      B.T.W.

      Surprised that 'nobody' has complained about the new, increased dues (mine went up from $275 to $301.50 - don't forget that 50 cents)....

      I'm glad we're all chipping in for Seddon's bonus​. 




8 comments:

  1. Thank you so much for the additional information Dick, I shared this incident on the Nextdoor website.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Karen, our deepest thanks to you and to the many others who have read yours and others glowing reports of Anthem Opinions.

    We hope this newest edition will somehow make the various Anthem communities a bit more aware of those who seek to bring harm to us in our retirement years.

    Again, thank you...and...tell your friends to join in with any useful information they might provide.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Whenever possible, ALWAYS try to get the license plate number of the vehicle

    ReplyDelete

  4. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It’s the little changes that will make the most important changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!
    valentine day status

    ReplyDelete
  5. Henderson Police have arrested a man for two robberies, after he robbed a Citibank branch, located at 10211 S. Eastern Ave., in two separate incidents.

    Thirty-one-year-old Anthony Hylton was arrested Jan. 31 without incident. Detectives were able to identify and locate Hylton based on surveillance video and witness descriptions that captured both the suspect and the vehicle used in the crimes. On Oct. 7, 2016, the suspect entered the Citibank, located at 10211 S. Eastern Ave., at about 10 a.m. He displayed a handgun and demanded money from bank employees. The suspect then fired one round into the ground from a .45 caliber handgun. He stole an undisclosed amount of cash and ran out of the bank. He then entered a black SUV and fled the scene.

    On Jan. 17, 2017 at about 12 p.m., the suspect entered the same Citibank location and demanded money after brandishing a firearm. Bank employees recognized the suspect as the same suspect from the previous robbery. The suspect stole an undisclosed amount of cash from the teller drawer and fled the scene in the same black SUV.

    No one was injured during either of the two robberies.

    Hylton is being held in the Henderson Detention Center on charges of robbery

    ReplyDelete
  6. From a Sun City Anthem Resident

    Warning! Think twice about what you say to Uber/Lyft drivers if you use them to take you to the airport.

    Our neighbors home was burglarized this week here on our very quiet and what we thought was secure street in Sun City Anthem. In 15 years on the street, never had we had a burglary. Then they go away for a week and their chatty Uber drive asking them about where they are going and how long they would be gone is what we all believe now was like a billboard announcing their absence.

    The driver was the only one who knew their house was vacant. In the middle of one night this past week someone shows up with a glass cutter and suction cup to remove the window glass quietly and though the house was alarmed broke in through the master bathroom.. OOPS how many of us have our alarm coverage in our bathrooms or master bedrooms? The crook went through everything in those two rooms including search pockets in the closet and took valuables as they/he were only looking for cash and jewelry. They left the TVs as they/he did not want to be seen walking away with them down the street to where ever the car was parked.

    Point being even with security lights going on and off inside and an alarm, the house was broken into quietly and strategically knowing the people were gone! It sure as heck wasn't one of us close neighbors who also did not know they were gone for a week. Second point is the lesson here is do not go away and not let your neighbors know you are leaving so we/they can be even more watchful. I agree with the neighbors that it is very likely the Uber driver either returned or had contacts he gave the address and even our gate code to so the house could be safely broken into.

    It was also strange the Uber driver was not driving the vehicle they were to pick them up in as well, though his picture was the same. Not sure that matters. I think you will all agree where there is smoke, there is likely a fire so keep your mouth closed if you use a stranger to take you to the airport for a vacation. Who would have thought?. I have reported this information to the police.

    ReplyDelete
  7. From one of our Black Mountain neighbors.

    "I would like to alert all my neighbors to be aware of a black equinox Chevy, license # 379LSP.

    I noticed the car sitting on Merrimack, between Idaho Falls and Sawtooth Mt. at 8:00 in the morning.

    Coming back from aqua swimming class it was still sitting on Merrimack, but had moved down a little past Sawtooth.

    I drove up behind it and it took off.

    He had stop at the stop sign and that was when I was able to get the make and license number.

    I alerted patrol and called 311 and gave the Henderson police the information.

    When I started following him, he took off down Anthem Parkway.

    Please beware of cars or SUVs sitting on Merrimack."

    ReplyDelete
  8. It wouldn't be appropriate for me to advertise for any specific company or individual on AO but in lieu of Uber or Lyft or a cab, there are SCA residents that are licensed and insured that advertise in the Spirit with private car services for rides to the airport at very reasonable rates. We have used and recommended one for years and he has become a personal friend. He meets us at baggage claim upon our return and I never have to be concerned that he will burglarize our home in our absence. When we make our travel plans I advise him our flights and never have to give it a second thought. All our friends have been extremely satisfied as well.
    Regardless - if you bother to have an alarm add a motion sensor in your bedrooms !!!!

    ReplyDelete