Sun City Anthem

Sunday, November 18, 2018

Welcome
to
Anthem Opinions

a community communication device that will provide you information, ask your opinions, and hopefully
entertain
you.

Sending an email to us?

scaopinions@gmail.com
  
See Our Latest... 

A ONE PAGE OPINION POLL

COMMENTS FROM RANA GOODMAN
ANTHEM TODAY
Published with Permission
____________________________

Learn more of us and how to subscribe...


or

 Click on our Information Page...



"Welcome...How to Subscribe !!!"

ANTHEM TODAY Responds to the "ONE QUESTION OPINION POLL"

Thanks to Rana Goodman for the following commentary.
The original can be viewed on AnthemToday.com
The link to the article is:

Reproduced with Permission
Yesterday I received the association’s opinion poll and at first I was just going to mark my choice, multi-purpose rooms, and then drop it at the Anthem Center.  However, as I then began to read the accompanying fact sheet, I was left with glaring questions on what was written there.
Please read the pro and con sheet and judge for yourself, the misleading information, at least that is my opinion of what I saw there. Starting with the statement that converting to multipurpose rooms will cost SCA $2.3 million per year… Once built, all I see are a slight addition to the current cost for possibly more janitorial and utility costs.  (if you are interested in buying a bridge, I heard that the Brooklyn Bridge might be available!)
Additionally, from what I understand without the restaurant and bar SCA will not pay the property tax charged now because we will be entirely “not for profit”
Option 1 “reopen the restaurant:
“The operator will pay not rent, property taxes, utilities. SCA will pay some operating costs like Janitorial, linen service, advertising etc.” The restaurant operator only pay for staff and food and cost to us (SCA) would be about $250,000 per year or $35 per home. 
Pros offered:
“Provides a unique dining experience?”  That is an assumption without foundation, with no vendor we don’t know that and that idea has failed 5 or 6 times already. 
“Excellent sales and marketing tool for home sales” According to real estate studies done this far, the lack of a restaurant has NOT hampered home sales at all.
Cons offered
1: Our area has many other restaurant choices
2: A restaurant will attract non-residents! … It does not and that is one of the reasons all past restaurants have failed.
3: There will be NO pot-lucks or “drop & go’s (food delivery) in Anthem Center, The restaurant operator will have exclusive catering rights. This will restrict clubs from many food choices for their events o unless they go off campus.
Option 2 Converting to multipurpose rooms “cons” listed:
1: Before bids have ever been announced, they have listed the approximate cost at “$750,000 (or more)” and states that “a special assessment will be required”. However, when the board and GM agreed to $250,000 subsidy per year plus tons and tons or additional perks to the last restaurant asking to take the space, not one word was stated about a special assessment to support the place.
2: “SCA already has many meeting rooms,” yes we do, BUT scheduling is already a problem for the few large rooms that clubs and residents may use for events. One at Liberty Center, one at Independence Center and the Delaware room/grand ballroom at Anthem Center. Many clubs vie for those rooms and perhaps if we had more the cost to use them for residence would be a little less.
3: “As our demographics change, in the future we may have less need for more meeting rooms” In my opinion that is hogwash! Homes are being sold at SCA constantly, as more people move in often the age demographic changes too. Also, just because we are aging it does not mean we won’t want to meet with the respective clubs, our friends, or hold events without fighting for dates and spaces. Currently, for example, when the Women’s Club meets for their luncheons Current Events Club must move to another location so their regular meeting room can be encompassed into the Grand Ballroom.
In the second paragraph of this section it states; “after conversion SCA’s annual cost would be approximately $160,000 per year or $22 per home” I don’t believe that and would like to see the bare cost of operating the meeting rooms in Anthem Center at this point.

Saturday, November 10, 2018

See You in a Few Weeks

Image result for time for a break
&

Image result for And Thanks !

We have some "fix-it" ourselves to do in the next couple of weeks and as a result, we're taking a break.

On November 12, 2012 we commenced publishing an idea.

...and we called it:
Anthem Opinions

...an idea for a community and its inhabitants to be both entertained and enlightened in order to make it a fulfilling and pleasurable experience..

...that...


Image result for we're all in this together

...and that life went well past waking up and sleeping in a retirement community...

... but also embraced a belief that...


Image result for the ride ain't over

Today is our 6th anniversary.

When we first arrived from the Chicago area in 2005, we believed that we migrated here for a fun filledhonest, and happy life.  

After all, like so many of you, as we drove past the Sun City Anthem waterfalls...


Image result for sun city anthem waterfalls

...while seeing the fabulous Las Vegas Strip in our rear view window...


Image result for las vegas strip from anthem'

...this was to be our future...the final chapter !

That was in 2005, but as the years went by, so did much of the "honest" part of the original belief.

And so, we believed that Sun City Anthem needed to rekindle that original spirit, and in 2012 we believed it was time to get it back !

Sadly, that quest appears to be an unending battle...

...a battle those who CARE, must not abandon by complacency or the expediency of accepting mediocrity. 

Over the years we watched many decisions made by individuals who had no experience in making them, and when so many of them failed causing financial loss and spirit in our community, rather than correct them with the voice of experience, instead continued their failures due to a "good ole boy" system of "machine" politics that has brought us the distinction of "The HOA Hall of Shame" on two occasions.


Image result for LAS VEGAS HOA HALL OF SHAME

2018

We spiraled downward from the top retirement community in the United States to not even being included in the Top 55 list in 2018. 


...and though you may not appreciate becoming aware of these issues, ignoring or accepting them as a "way of life" does little other than multiplying them over time.

They must be faced...and...solved...for all of our sakes.

Over the past 6 years, we have averaged publishing 2 articles per day, 5 days per week.  

We now have 2,292 subscribers, and average between 1,800 and 2,000 visits per day on the days we publish new articles...

...and our total visits to Anthem Opinions over that 6 year period are reaching close to 2,500,000.

For that response, we send all of you our sincere thanks.

This is also an opportunity to thank others who have taken their time to assist us in publishing articles and comments over the years.

So many have contributed, it's impossible to thank all of you.

Your input and comments have hopefully opened the eyes of many in Sun City Anthem that would otherwise never be heard through official community publications.

But...there are some who deserve special recognition for their contributions to our publication.

And it's time we recognized them for not just their contributions to Anthem Opinions, but standing out in our community for their unselfish attempts to make life a better experience for all of us.

A special thanks to our "Mr. Fix-It", Forrest Fetherolf, who, over the years, has not only provided our readers helpful home improvement information, but who also has spent countless hours assisting so many homeowners in their never ending home repairs...including mine !


Image result for forrest fetherolf

How Forrest does all this in addition to tending to his own personal properties in Sun City Anthem (8 at last count) plus others in the Valley, is amazing...and if you've seen him in the gym lately, he proves a point...

...as you age, you can look younger !

Thanks Forrest, knowing you has been such a highlight over the years and you've been an inspiration to so many of us for your unselfish community dedication.

We've had so many "tips" ideas over the years, and many of them have been provided by Valerie Lapin.

Thanks Valerie !

Entertainment ? It goes without saying that my former years with the Vegas Voice allowed me to meet a number of wonderful entertainers and columnists, and so much of our entertainment news has been provided by a lady named Jackie Brett.


Image result for jackie brett

Thanks Jackie !

And then there is my friend, Rana Goodman, whose dedication to the political atmosphere in her Guardianship "revolution"has changed life for so many seniors as the years pass.  She and I have collaborated on so many issues over the years, and though she may write Anthem Today, I've always looked at her devotion as a companion piece to Anthem Opinions, not a competitor.


Image result for rana goodman

Thanks Rana !

Our "Nevada Know How" Information Page has quite frequently, had the expertise of a man whom so many in the Sun City Anthem community have looked at and refer to as our community's "NRS Expert", Tim Stebbins.


Image result for tim stebbins
Rana Goodman &Tim Stebbins

Thanks Tim !

Then we have a few individuals who have served Sun City Anthem well in their financial expertise who have composed a number of the best editorial pieces concerning the Sun City Anthem community, former Finance Committee member, Barry Goldstein...


Image result for barry goldstein sun city anthem

...and 4 year Board member, Jim Mayfield.  


Image result for jim mayfield sun city anthem

We've learned so much from both of them and their love for a better community is obvious when such individuals will take their time to write such pieces that explore the "innerds" of Sun City Anthem governance.

Thanks Barry & Tim !

When it comes to common sense issues, hats off to Robert Nusser... 



....for the editorials he's furnished us along with hours of dedication while patrolling our streets as a member of the Sun City Anthem Community Patrol in excess of 1,000 hours since his relocation from New Jersey. 

Thanks Robert !

We have a name whom many of you may not readily know, but without his computer knowledge, Anthem Opinions would have sunk like the Titanic, Allen Weintraub, whom I affectionately refer to as "Techie", and almost 50 years ago, called him Fraternity Brother (Sigma Alpha Mu), before running into him at the Liberty Center 6 years ago to rekindle a friendship that had been lost over time.


Image result for allen weintraub

(He aged, I didn't)

Thanks Allen !

That leaves me, Dick Arendt, who despite constant criticism from some whose motives care more for themselves rather than the community as a whole in which they reside, loves Sun City Anthem more than many realize.


Related image

Yes, I will bring out adverse actions that affect our lives; and yes, I will signal out those who have acted improperly and harmed the financial welfare of our association; but unlike another, I will tell you WHY those actions must be examined and remedied.

In addition I have tried to share my love for the past in historical terms...

...the importance of its knowledge, embracing it for recognizing its successes and failures, learning from it, and making our world a better place as a result of those successes and failures.

I will close this rather lengthy piece by sharing with all of you, our code of morality that we have tried to maintain from day one, and promise to continue until the day comes when Anthem Opinions ceases. 

Morality and a "fair shake" for all, rich or poor, has no boundary in terms of caring for the well being of others you call "neighbor" and "friend".

Fifty years ago we lost the great Robert Kennedy, and his words should be guide for all of us:

Image result for robert kennedy

"Each time a man stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, those ripples build a current that can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance."

What a wonderful world we would all be a part of, if all of us would "live" his words !

So, on behalf of our "crew":

...Thanks for 6 years of "ups and downs", and sharing a belief that tomorrow can always be better than today.

See you after Thanksgiving.

We'll resume our publications on November 29th as we begin the December holiday season.

Dick Arendt
Anthem Opinions







Friday, November 9, 2018

Association Attorney Utilized by Sun City Anthem Chastised by Commission for Homeowner Harassment & Retaliation Advice to Board Members

Adam Clarkson
(Sun City Anthem Association Attorney)
Rebuffed
by 
Commission for Common Interest Communities and Condominium Hotels

Image result for adam clarkson
A report by
Tim Stebbins
Sun City Anthem Resident and NRS 116 Expert



or

Click on our Information Page

"Nevada Know How"

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Saluting a Guardianship Dedication

Rana Goodman
 &
The Vegas Voice

Image result for rana goodman

A Guardianship Rights Victory

CLICK HERE for Full Information 

or
 
Click on our Information Page...
 
  "Henderson...LasVegas...Nevada...Happenings"

Monday, November 5, 2018

Solving the Brown Sugar Clump Problem



Preventing Brown Sugar Clumps

Image result for brown sugar clumps


or

See our Information Page...

"Why Didn't I Think About That ? ....Tips"

More Pedestrian Safety Planned on South Strip

New Bridge Will Go Over South End of Strip

Related image

CLICK HERE for Full Information 

or

Click on our Information Page...

 "Henderson...Las Vegas...Nevada...Happenings"

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

It Might be Halloween, but it's also Nevada's 154th Birthday


It might be Halloween, but it's also our 154th birthday !

Why is it called
Nevada ?

Related image



or

Click on Our Information Page

"History & Holidays"

Monday, October 29, 2018

Water Damage Must Be Addressed Before It Gets Worse


Repairing Water Damaged Walls


Image result for water damaged wall

CLICK HERE for Full Information

or
 
Click on our Information Page...
 
 "Mr. Fix-It's World of Home Improvement"
 

Free Parking Disappears at Yet Another Strip Hotel



Another Strip Hotel Now Charging to Park

Image result for pay to park

CLICK HERE for Full Information 

or

Click on our Information Page...

  "Henderson...Las Vegas...Nevada...Happenings"

Sunday, October 28, 2018

Let Us Entertain You....Which is the Happier Sex? Our Female Reader Believes it's Men

From an anonymous FEMALE source...

For women who have a sense of humor...and...men who enjoy chuckling while reading it !

Men Are Happier People

slob.jpg (236×298)

What do you expect from such simple creatures?

Your last name stays put.

The garage is all yours.

Wedding plans take care of themselves.

Chocolate is just another snack. 


You can never be pregnant.

You can wear a white T-shirt to a water park.

You can wear NO shirt to a water
 park.

 Car mechanics tell you the truth.


The world is your urinal. You never have to drive to another gas station restroom because this one is just too icky.

You don't have to stop and  think of which way to turn a nut
 on a bolt.


Same work, more pay.

Wrinkles add character.

Wedding dress $5000. Tux rental-$100.

People never stare at your chest when you're talking to them.
New shoes don't cut, blister, or mangle your feet.

One mood all the  time.


Phone conversations are over in 30 seconds flat.

A five-day vacation requires only one suitcase.


You can open all your own jars.

You get extra credit for the slightest act of thoughtfulness.

If someone forgets to invite you,  he or she can still
 be your friend.


Your underwear is $8.95 for a three-pack.

Two pairs of shoes are more than enough.

You almost never have strap problems in public.

 You are unable to see wrinkles in your clothes.

Everything on your face stays its original  color.

The same hairstyle lasts for years, maybe decades.

You only have to shave your face and neck.

You can play with toys all your life.


One wallet and one pair of shoes -- one color for all seasons.

You can wear shorts no matter how your legs look.

You can 'do' your nails  with a pocket knife.

You have freedom of choice concerning growing a moustache.

You can do Christmas shopping for 25 relatives On December 24 in 25 minutes.

No wonder men are happier.

NICKNAMES


 If Laura, Kate and Sarah go out for lunch, they will call each other
 Laura, Kate and Sarah.

If Mike, Dave and John go out, they will affectionately refer to
each other as Fat Boy,  Bubba, and  Wildman.

EATING OUT

When the bill arrives, Mike, Dave and John will each throw in $20,
even though it's only for $32.50.

None of them will have anything smaller and none will actually admit
they want change back.

When the girls get their bill, out come the pocket calculators.

MONEY

A man will pay $2 for a $1 item he needs.

A woman will pay $1 for a $2 item that she doesn't need but it's on sale.

BATHROOMS


A man has six items in his bathroom: toothbrush and toothpaste,
shaving cream, razor, a bar of soap, and a towel.

The average number of items in the typical woman's bathroom is 337.

A man would not be able to identify more than 20 of these items.

ARGUMENTS

 A woman has the last word in any argument.

Anything a man says after that is the beginning of a new argument.
 
MARRIAGE

A woman marries a man expecting he will change, but he doesn't.

A man marries a woman expecting that she won't change, but she does.

DRESSING UP


A woman will dress up to go shopping, water the plants, empty the
 trash, answer the phone, read a book, and get the mail.

A man will dress up for weddings and funerals.

NATURAL  

Men wake up as good-looking as they went to bed.

Women somehow deteriorate during the night.

OFFSPRING


Ah, children. A woman knows all about her children.
She knows about dentist appointments and romances, best friends,
favorite  foods, secret fears and hopes and dreams.

A man is vaguely aware of some short people living in the house.

THOUGHT FOR THE DAY


A married man should forget his mistakes. There's no use in two people
 remembering the same thing.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

OK, so do we have any of you out there who have disagreement with these thoughts?

Now it's your turn !

Send you comments to:

scaopinions@gmail.com
  1. From Linda Greenblatt...to...Anthem Opinions

    Love your blog...."Why men are happier than women."    Sooooooo true!
  2. From Lenore Nusser...Anthem Opinions

    Hi Dick, where do you come up with this stuff??

    I laughed so much this morning. I guess you must speak from experience..

  3. Lenore,

    Your husband and I are proud members of "The Slug Club".

    And...we're taking nominations from other wives for others to join our "Band of Merry Men" !